Home / News&Events / Content
Home / News&Events / Content
Three Foreign Academicians were Appointed as Honorary Professors of Tianjin University and Gave Peiyang Lectures

On the morning of April 28, 2019, invited by the School of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology (SPST), Professor Christina Moberg, member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Professor Luisa De Cola, member of the German Academy of Sciences, and Professor Donald Hilvert, member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, were appointed as honorary professors at Tianjin University. The Honorary Professor Appointment ceremony was held in the Meeting Room No. 8 of Tianjin University. Li Jiajun, Secretary of the Party Committee of Tianjin University, Feng Cuiling, secretary of the party committee of SPST, Jay Siegel, dean of SPST, and members of SPST International Advisory Board, attended the appointment ceremony. The ceremony was hosted by Tan Chao, deputy director of the Department of International Exchange and Cooperation.

Dean Jay Siegel introduced the academic background of the three academicians and their historical origin of cooperation with Tianjin University. Party Secretary Li Jiajun issued honorary professor certificates and medals to the three academicians.

Professor Christina Moberg is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering. He is currently Chairman of the Advisory Committee of the European Academy of Sciences and a professor at the Royal Swedish Institute of Technology. Professor Luisa De Cola is an academician of the German Academy of Sciences, an internationally renowned supramolecular chemist, a professor at the University of Strasbourg, France, and a member of the Committee of the German, British, French, American and Italian Chemical Association. Donald Hilvert is an academician of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a leading international scientist in the field of enzyme science, and a professor at the Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich. He has won the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award.

After the Honorary Professor Appointing Ceremony, the three honorary professors brought wonderful academic reports on Peiyang lecture to share their achievement of scientific research and inspiration of tackling key scientific research problems. By reviewing the history of metal catalytic reactions, Professor Christina Moberg discussed how to design catalysts for asymmetric catalytic reactions, and showed a series of novel broad-spectrum catalysts designed and developed. Professor Luisa De Cola described the biodegradable silicon materials developed by her team, the drug delivery system for the treatment of liver cancer, and injectable biocompatible hydrogels. Professor Donald Hilvert describes the design and preparation of metal-containing enzymes and proteins and their magical catalytic effects in chemical reactions. It is reported that these three honorary professors had been appointed as the 2ndInternational Advisory Board of the School of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology since April 2018 to provide advice for the international development of SPST. It is believed that their participation will strengthen the cooperation between Tianjin University and foreign universities, promote discipline construction, personnel training and scientific research, and help the internationalization of and universities to a new height.